Sonic Youth Unvault Two Live Albums to Benefit Abortion Rights: Listen

Sonic Youth have unvaulted a pair of live albums recorded in Texas, with proceeds benefitting abortion support funds. The albums, recorded in Austin and Dallas in 1995 and 2006, respectively, are out today (November 5) for Bandcamp Day. All proceeds go to Fund Texas Choice and the Abortion Support Network. Click through the embeds below to download the albums for $10 apiece. 

“In times like these it feels good to be able to take some action instead of being totally frustrated by the system,” Kim Gordon told Rolling Stone. “This Texas law is pure old-west-style vigilante, cowboy DIY mentality that goes against the constitution. We will only overcome this if we’re an engine coming out against this regressive and inhumane law, by coming together. I hope this brings awareness and encourages other people to join the fight by donating.”

The first album was recorded at Austin Music Hall on the Washing Machine tour, while the second captures the band touring Rather Ripped at Dallas’s Gypsy Tea Room. 

Live in Austin 1995:

01 Kotton Krown
02 Catholic Block
03 PCH
04 Candle
05 Washing Machine
06 Saucer-Like
07 Junkie’s Promise
08 Bull In The Heather
09 Starfield Road
10 Skip Tracer
11 Skink
12 The Diamond Sea
13 Unwind
14 Brother James

Live in Dallas 2006:

01 Do You Believe In Rapture?
02 Reena
03 Tom Violence
04 What A Waste
05 Sleepin’ Around
06 Kool Thing
07 Rats
08 Incinerate
09 Turquoise Boy
10 Catholic Block
11 Eric’s Trip
12 Or
13 Jams Run Free
14 Pink Steam
15 Lights Out
16 Shaking Hell

Source link